RE Episode 14 – Reincarnated Elf (100) notices a strange feeling in the world.

It’s been three weeks since I went out into the outside world.

“If we cross this road, we’ll be in Kukule Citadel, the capital city of the Oulu Empire, where the Garlander Frontier Count lives. We’re almost there!”

“The closer we get to the capital, the more injuries we’ll have.

It’s not only the number of demonic beasts that we have to defeat that is increasing, but the number of injured people is increasing even more.

By the way, did you say that even in the guilds you stopped by, the number of defense missions that Garius directly requested is increasing in the Count territory?

It’s a great way to kill two birds with one stone, as you can defeat demonic beasts and receive a small amount of money in exchange for healing, and our lodgings are gradually becoming more luxurious.

“Recently, especially because the invasion of monsters from outside the Count is gradually increasing. I also made a lot of money at Kukure Citadel.”

The journey of Minori and I went smoothly.

Chomp.

I ate the fruit Minori had given me.

The sweetness of the apple I ate in my previous life and the sourness that lingers in my throat are exquisite.

Even after becoming an elf, I still enjoy the taste of meat and fish, but I think my taste buds have become more discriminating when it comes to fruits and vegetables.

“It’s delicious.”

“I’m glad to hear that. Tula berries are a specialty of the forest country next to this country, the Holy Land Forest of Lyttle.”

“The Holy Land Forest is where the beastmen used to live.”

“Ahaha, Reese-sama. The beastmen are a race of folklore, you know. But I always thought it would be nice if there were people with beast ears like the ones you read about in picture books.”

I see, so the beastman race is no longer even remembered by future generations.

I knew from the grimoires I had read that they had existed a long time ago, but…

The hardening magic that the beastmen are said to have controlled is still not perfect. I had hoped to meet a real beastman, but it looks like that won’t happen.

“Some races have pointed ears, so there may be races with animal ears.”

Twitch, twitch.

When I moved my ears, Minori was amazed with a lot of expressions, saying, “Huh … surely …!”.

— ?

Shoot.

I feel really uncomfortable after eating the Tula berries.

It was such discomfort that my throat felt like it was on fire.

“Minori, try some of this.”

“I’m not sure if it’s really okay for me to eat what Reese-sama ate.”

I’m not sure why Minori’s tone was so upset.

Minori took two big deep breaths and crunched on the tula fruit as if she had made up her mind.

“‘……? I think it tastes as good as ever. (It was more delicious because it was after Reese-sama.).”

The last part was a whisper, inaudible even with my elf ears, but I couldn’t shake the feeling of discomfort.

— The magic of appraisal, component analysis gnosis.

This is one of the magic skills developed by the human race about 700 years ago.

According to legend, a major magical revolution took place around that time, and magic from this time is often included in the list of existing ancient magic.

It was also during this time that the grimoire, a system of books that can only be deciphered by a certain level of skill, was invented.

Moisture content 80%.

12% sugar content

Other 8%.

And inside the book…

% miasma content.

So that’s what’s wrong with it.

I also cast a magic spell on the cucumbers I brought back from my hometown, but no “miasma” was detected anywhere.

— Miasma.

This is the name of a special particle that used to be found in the area ruled by the demon tribe, the subhumans.

The demon tribe existed in a place adjacent to the sacred forest Lytle.

It is said that they tried to plunge the world into chaos in order to transfer control of the world from the hands of the humans to the demons, but in the end their ambition was not fulfilled, and they died out in secret.

If there were no demons, there would be no miasma.

“What did you think? Did it not suit your taste?”

Minori peeked at me anxiously.

They’ve already forgotten about the beastman sub-race. I’m sure the human race won’t even think about the demon race.

“No, it’s nothing. I just wanted Minori to try it because it was delicious.”

“…………!”

Minori looked down completely.

However, if the demon tribe were to return, the situation would become more troublesome.

We Elves are the ones who are the least resistant to their miasma.

We are too accustomed to a clean environment, and the miasma that corrupts the human mind is the greatest poison to the elves.

— It won’t happen, right?

What appeared in front of us was a fortified city surrounded by a huge gate.

Despite the idyllic forest that surrounded it, the iron walls of the city were probably the last fortress protecting the country from the outside world.

●●●

— We were now In front of the mansion of the frontier count of Garlander.

As soon as we stood in front of the gate, which is the strictest of all the gates in the Kukule citadel, the guards immediately surrounded us.

“You want to see Master Garius? A shabby adventurer who no one knows, I don’t think he can meet you!! Get the hell out of here, you beggars!”

Garius’s mansion was bigger than I expected, and before I could even enter the house, I was turned away by the guards guarding the gate.

But I had to tell him this.

“Then, Mr. Guard. If you have a chance to meet Garius, could you tell him this?”

“Aah! Why would he want to meet with an unknown person like you?

“This is not the time to be slaying monsters that come out. You should know that the demon tribe may be coming back soon.”

From my words, everyone who was there opened their eyes.

Next Chapter

Leave a comment