RE Episode 15 – Reincarnated Elf (100) Reunites with a Friend.

“This is not the time to be taking your time defeating the demonic beasts that appear. The demon race may be coming back soon.”

The guard in front of me tilted his head and said, “What the hell is he talking about?”

“It’s like a fairy tale in a picture book, isn’t it? So you’re a fan of Garius-sama, huh?They’ve been here lately. There’s a guy who comes here just to see Sir Gallius. I’ve been a gatekeeper for five years, and I’ve only met him from a distance.”

Shoo shoo. Minori’s eyes flashed at the guards who flicked her hand away, “Reese-sama!”

“And that woman there is probably the Nameless Woman Anonymous. A stray adventurer is no good. You can’t bring in someone with no name, no affiliation, and no background.”

“Yyyyyyyyou trash! I-I don’t care what you say about me. I’m not sure what to say, but if you insult Reese-sama, Minori will never forgive you!”

“Haha. I still can’t believe that this barbarian and the boy are acquaintances of Master Garius. I have been a gatekeeper for five years, and I remember the faces of everyone who has come through here, but I don’t remember any of you. If you’re going to claim to be acquaintances of Master Garrius, then you should be a little more–“

It was while the guards and Minori were looking at each other.

“I was wondering what was going on at the front, but it’s Reese-sama!”

The dull door opened with ease, and a young man came out from inside.

The boyish expression on his face had already become a fine young man.

I can’t believe how much one’s face can change in seven years.

“Oh, it’s Garius. Hello. It’s been a few years.’

“It’s been seven years! You remembered our promise back then!”

When I waved my hand with a flutter, the man who had been a gatekeeper for five years said, “The most important person in this territory is ……? He looked at me and Galius-kun alternately and rolled his eyes.

As I walked towards him, I couldn’t help but smile.

“I’m sorry to call you kid, but I’m actually over 100 years old.

In my previous life, I was told that I looked old, but I guess I didn’t expect that in this life I would be seen as so childish.

It’s not a bad feeling to be seen as young, though.

●●●

“Wow…… what beautiful scenery ……”

The Garlander frontier count’s mansion was built exactly like a castle.

Minori was curious, scurrying around like a young child.

On the fourth level, which was directly controlled by Garius, you could see the wall protecting the border and the mountains beyond, and if you looked the other way, you could see the castle town.

If there is an enemy invasion on the wall side, you can move immediately, and you can also observe the city at any time.

“Ri, Reese-sama really knows Garius-sama …? I’ve heard that no one other than the family is invited to the higher floors of the Count lord’s residence!”

“The first time I talked to a human being was Grillet, Garius’s father. He used to come and visit us all the time, didn’t he, Grillet?

“Grillet!? You mean Grillet Garlander?”

Minori snapped at him, sincerely surprised.

“I-I’m not sure if he’s really that famous.”

“He was a great warrior who single-handedly defeated the demon beasts that came to the city walls for 20 years. It is said that he was the strongest man in the history of the frontier count! I heard that he has been enjoying his retirement since five years ago when he handed over the governorship to Master Garius. …… What kind of relationship do you have with Lord Grillet?”

“…… Friends, maybe?”

Grillet-san and I have been friends for decades now.

I haven’t seen him in almost twenty years, but it was Grillet-san who taught me about human society in this world.

— The test for Mr. Reese to get out of the forest, right?

The last time I saw Mr. Grillet, he said.

“Well, if you’re going to go out of the forest, you should stop by my place first. I don’t want to wake up with you always showing me around. I’m pretty proud of my place, too. I’m sure it will be interesting for the elves who only know the world here.”

“Then you’re not going to be able to die until I get out of the forest.”

“That is, if Reese-sama makes it to the outside world in the shortest amount of time. Before I die, please. I promise.”

I’m not sure if he remembers that promise, but it was still the first place I was going to come when I got out of the forest.

“I see, my father made such a promise …….”

“‘Well, now that I’m out of the woods, I thought I’d let you show me around. I’m here in the shortest time possible, as promised.”

“My father used to tell me about Reese-sama. And how he was determined that when he came out of the forest, we would drink local wine together, make fools of ourselves, and become worldly.”

“Good, I was wondering what I would do if he forgot his promise.”

I was wondering what would happen if he forgot our promise.

“…… Haha, then my father really is a sinful man. He has not only forgotten his promise to Reese-sama, he has thrown it away and continues to sleep alone.”

He opened the door to a room.

There was a skinny man on a bed, connected to countless tubes.

He was probably unconscious.

His hair, which had been thick and black, was now thin and gray.

His face, which had been angular with bones and muscles, was now carved with countless weak wrinkles.

What used to be a muscular body became nothing but skin and bones. You can’t see the figure that was always in front of me holding a big axe and giving a powerful performance.

“…… Is that you, Grillet?”

Garius gave a small nod to my question.

“It’s been five years since my father was in that condition. The doctors had given up on him and he didn’t have much time left to live. I think he’s happy that Mr. Reese came to see him at the end.”

The passage of time had been far more cruel than I had thought it would be.

Next Chapter

5 thoughts on “RE Episode 15 – Reincarnated Elf (100) Reunites with a Friend.

Leave a comment